LSAT Logic Game Volunteer Group Explanation Video

I just made a video explanation for the second LSAT Logic Game from LSAT PrepTest 58 (September 2009 LSAT). It's the "volunteer group" game (employees: Felicia, Leah, Masatomo, Rochelle, Salman,  Terry, and Veena).

I explained all questions in one video that's 10 1/2 minutes. (Get more free LSAT videos.)



For more, see my more-detailed written Logic Games explanations available on the blog.


  1. Hey Steve!

    I think I must be misunderstanding something-- Question 8: How is B the correct answer if in the contrapositive diagram S must be out for V to be in?

    Is B correct because neither diagram forbids V --> ~S?

    Thank you!

  2. I also do not understand how B is the answer for #8 if S cannot be in there because with S, V cannot be present, I'm confused.

  3. Can someone explain #8 because I'm confused

  4. Ok please use my response to #8 loosely because I suck at explaining thing. The answer is pretty tricky so I'll try my best to explain. Starting with Felicia the reason why they can be volunteer because both variable are independent and don't rely on either to volunteer. Now if you take the contrapositive of "if terry volunteers, then neither Felicia nor veena volunteer," it will become "if Felicia OR Veena volunteers terry doesn't volunteer. This will lead to a chain effect of the contrapositive of the rule stating; if T out then M is out, if M is out than R is out, if R out than L is in. The conditional statement and the contrapositive do not state F and V are based on one another but rather independently they affect or is affected by T. Now with S. The rule specifically states, " If Salman does NOT volunteer, then Veena volunteer." so the contrapositive will be " If Veena does NOT volunteer, then Salman is volunteers." The sufficient condition specifically reliant on whether S or V(contrapositive) is out of the game. S don't have to be out for V to be in that would be called a mistaken reversal. sneaky game I know. I hope this help whoever stumble across it and I'm sorry for so many grammar mistake. English my first language i just suck at writing lol.

    1. In the video when Mr.Schwartz was going of the T>F/V rule instead of saying "nor" he use "and" which is the same language in the context of the game. when you take a contrapositive of the "and" it become "or". Hope this help on why F and V can volunteer together.